top of page

Somewhat of an adventure

So many of my recent posts have been serious! Let me lighten it up a little with a few anecdotes. So my medication is comes with a side effect of rewiring my brain just enough so that it can cope with the pain of a migraine. At least, that’s how I understand what it is supposed to do – I can check with my neurologist to be sure, and do a little research – but in any case, it is definitely doing something, because the follow amusing instances have happened: *I bolted upright in bed and started…talking. My husband isn’t sure what about. I don’t know what about, since I have no memory of the incident, but he said I was just insisting on something was happening outside our bedroom. Since I sat upright so quickly, it woke him, and I was babbling so quickly, it pulled him from his sleep to puzzle out what I was trying to say. He couldn’t figure it out, though he was able to soothe me to sleep by lightly touching my face until I settled down again.

*Another night, I told him there was a dog by our bed. Not unusual, as we have two very cute, cuddly doggos…except there wasn’t, as both of our real dogs were sleeping soundly next to us. I kept telling him there was, pointing around the bed as I apparently tracked it around the room. The next morning as he told me this I laughed. I can’t see in the dark at all! *In the first month of the medication, I shattered a plate…by leaving it on the very hot, very much on burner. Sounds scary, but we laugh about it now. We were making pancakes and I went to the bathroom to attend to some organizational task, when - crackbamPOP! – my husband from the stove and I from the bathroom hear the plate shatter. It was the pancakes, on the plate, where I had left them. On the burner. That was left hot. By me. Early on, the dosage was too high and I had little awareness of tasks – when my husband told me to set the pancakes down and turn the burner off, my brain mixed up the tasks entirely, with no follow through whatsoever, to that rather messy conclusion.

It’s an adventure, being on medication. Sometimes it’s scary; sometimes it can be really goofy. I’m finding that having a sense of humor about it – developing that muscle – is so much needed to help me handle the harder episodes, and necessary for the journey on the whole emotionally. My husband is the one who taught me that initially when we met, and now the migraines are teaching me to flex it. Who knows, maybe along the way I’ll become a comedienne!


I am what I choose to become. 

Filling the Empty Bowl

Just because I have an empty bowl doesn't mean it's the end! 

Read More About me
My Sponsors
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
bottom of page